

International Society of Organic Agriculture Research

Minutes of the General Assembly of ISOFAR, November 8, 2017

NCOF, India

Venue: NCOF, Ghaziabad, India, 14:15-18:15

Registration: Treasurer Ilse A. Rasmussen + Daniel Neuhoff, who coordinated the elections, registered board candidates, then other voting members.

The ISOFAR president, Dr. Gerold Rahmann, welcomed the audience with agenda items 1-9.

Nobody objected or proposed additions, hence the agenda was accepted.

Minutes following the agenda 1-9, see below:

1. Welcoming of participants (n=32)

2. The invitation for this meeting and the minutes of the last ISOFAR general assembly, Istanbul October 2014, were approved.

3. Appointments

Daniel Neuhoff was appointed as the moderator, and brought greetings from Professor Ulrich Köpke, the founding president of ISOFAR. As minute keeper, Anne-Kristin Løes was appointed.

4. Reports from the board 2014-2017

President's report: Presenting the current board, not completely global (too many -Europeans) and not too well balanced with respect to gender (F-M = 3-9). E-board had 9 virtual meetings, the whole board met by Skype 6 times and additionally 4 times vis-à-vis (Turkey, Germany, Iran, India). We have launched a new website and transferred the responsibility for it to ICROFS, Denmark. We have supported several conferences, documented in a power point presentation that will be published on the website. ISOFAR International Organic Expo, September 2015 became a great success with 1.1 million visitors "Science meets public", IFOAM was included as a partner. ISOFAR has cooperated with IFOAM since 2003 to coordinate the scientific part of the OWC. Gerold has been a member of the steering committee of OWC 2017. We publish Newsletters two times a year, and send emails to members and friends, e.g. notifications of new issues of Organic Agriculture (the ISOFAR journal). The journal, established 2011, has developed positively since 2014. Springer now wants to apply for Thompson Reuters index. A printed copy of the special issue made for the 2017 OWC was handed out. All members of ISOFAR have free access by web to all journal contents. It is not bad for a new journal to survive and achieve such status within 7

years. Last OWC reduced and diversified the membership rates according to rate of development (60/30/15/7.5 Euro per year). ISOFAR currently has 442 members in 69 countries, which is not so bad for a scientific association. We have also many friends; totally 2663 receive the Newsletters by now. The average fee per member paid is now 22 Euro per year.

 Cash report: Treasurer, Ilse A. Rasmussen presented the accounts for the period 2014-2016. Membership fees have been reduced from about 8000 to about 5000 Euro per year since membership fees were significantly reduced by the GA in 2014. We had a significant income of 25,000 Euro in 2015 due to the Expo in Korea. Support for conferences were about 9,000 Euro 2014, 5,000 in 2015 and 8,500 in 2016. ISOFAR pays Springer 20 Euro per member for the journal + taxes.

In total ISOFAR received 75,000 Euro from Korea for the Expo. To avoid paying 20% tax for this, and keep our NGO status, we have to spend this money within about 5 years, e.g. for supporting conferences.

The audit declaration is positive but calls for whether ISOFAR compares different offers for larger costs, and why we dispose of two bank accounts? The reason for two accounts is that it was impossible to change the owner of ISOFAR's original account from Ulrich Köpke.

The President stressed that we have money for a stable activity level for the coming 3 years, but that for the next GA finances will have to be an issue.

- Discussion of the reports

We should ask Springer if it is not possible to reveal how many of the total downloads were from ISOFAR members and how many paid; that is valuable for negotiations.

What about subscriptions from universities? Usually that is part of a consortium subscription for many journals, e.g. 1 million Euro per year for 25 000 journals in Germany.

It is suggested to change the timing of the GA by including it in the Sci Track to attract more participants. This is an interesting proposal, but since the Sci Track is arranged in cooperation with TIPI and IFOAM, this procedure may cause some problems.

4. Exoneration of the board 2014-2017

Jochen Mayer suggested on behalf of the members that the current board will be exonerated. 19 participants agreed to the exoneration. Board members present = 10, non-members without right to vote = 3, total amount of persons present = 32. This means that everyone present with a right to vote, was positive towards exoneration of the board.

5. Election of the new board 2017-2020

All members had received a voting card during the registration. It is not mandatory to be physically present during the GA, but candidates must have paid their membership at least for one out of the years 2016 and 2017. Five members had to be removed from the list of totally 25 candidates. Others presented themselves, if present. Candidates were asked to explain whether they will be able to fund

travel costs for a few vis-à-vis meetings, and have support from their employees to participate in board activities without payment.

List of eligible candidates:

Christian Andres, FiBL, Switzerland, not present because TIPI, where he is a coordinator, arranges a workshop at another venue today. Reza Ardakani, Iran: Board member (BM) since 2014. Khalid Azim, Morocco: ISOFAR member since 2009. Subrahmyeswari Bodapati, India Stefano Canali, Italy: BM since 2014 Carmelita Cervantes, Philippines: Not present and has not sent any presentation, BM 2011-2014 Mahesh Chander, India: BM since 2014 Sue Edwards, Ethiopia was not present but was presented by a colleague from Ethiopia Anne-Kristin Løes, Norway: BM since 2008 Daniel Neuhoff, Germany: Former General Secretary in ISOFAR Jaako Nuutila, Finland Ehiabhi Odion, Nigeria: Not present Timothy Olabiyi, Nigeria: Not present Victor Olowe, Nigeria: BM since 2014 Sangeeta Panday, India: Not present, no presentation Gerold Rahmann, Germany: BM since 2011 Ewa Rembialkowska, Poland: BM since 2014 Khaled Sassi, Tunisia. ISOFAR member since 2006. Jessica Shade, USA: Presented by her colleague (maternity leave) Nazzim Uddin, Bangladesh Mette Vaarst, Denmark Raffaele Zanoli, Italy: BM since 2014

6. Balloting/ Break

The balloting committee, Ilse A. Rasmussen and Uli Hamm, announced the following results.

NAME	VOTES	RANK
Gerold Rahmann	26	1
Reza Ardakani	24	2
Daniel Neuhoff	24	2
Raffaele Zanoli	24	2
Anne-Kristin Løes	23	5
Victor Olowe	22	6
Jessica Shade	19	7
Stefano Canali	18	9
Mahesh Chander	18	9
Khalid Azim	17	10
Khaled Sassi	17	11
Jaako Nuutila, Finland	13	12
Ewa Rembialkowska	13	(decided by coin towards Jaako N.)
Mette Vaarst	12	
Subrahmyeswari Bodapati	8	
Nazzim Uddin	7	

Christian Andres	7
Sue Edwards	3
Timothy Olabiyi	1
Sangeeta Panday	1
Carmelita Cervantes	0
Ehiabhi Odion	0

7. Presentation of the new board

The board elected Gerold Rahmann as President, Reza Ardakani as the vice president and Anne-Kristin Løes as the treasurer.

8. Outlook future activities

We were in lack of time, and could not use much time here. Discussions during the workshop on the journal Organic Agriculture in the morning of Nov 8, and at the Sci Track on Nov 9, are covering this topic. It was emphasized that the Newsletter can be more actively used.

9. Miscellaneous

Nobody raised any items here.

10. Closure

The President acknowledged the presence of many persons and a nice atmosphere.

Greater Noida November 10, 2017

Anne-Kristin Løes	Gard fl. Can
Anne-Kristin Løes (Minutes keeper)	Gerold Rahmann (President)